JULY WRAP-UP AND AUGUST ANTICIPATED READS

August is one of my favourite months because it’s a reminder that the most wonder-fall time of the year is approaching. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to attend YALC over the weekend, but at least I managed to get a lot done this month. I reached my goal for CampNaNoWriMo, completed my Goodreads challenge, exceeded 100 blog followers and changed my blog design to one I’m finally happy with!

I only read four books in July, most of which were quite disappointing, and I’m hoping to read a lot more in August by undertaking all the reading challenges! I’m definitely most excited for #TheReadingQuest, hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight, which I haven’t yet posted my TBR for. But, I did make a spreadsheet yesterday and I honestly can’t wait to use it.

My most anticipated reads of August include an anthology which I’ve already read and loved and a highly-anticipated book by my favourite author which I managed to get an advance review copy of! I still can’t believe it’s actually in my hands (thanks to the WONDER-ful Sarah at Penguin Random House for hooking me up!) The only reason I haven’t already devoured it is because I want it to read it as part of #TheReadingQuest.

change bookA CHANGE IS GONNA COME ANTHOLOGY

August 10th 2017

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository


Featuring top Young Adult authors alongside a host of exciting new talent, this anthology of stories and poetry from BAME writers on the theme of change is a long-overdue addition to the YA scene. Contributors include Tanya Byrne, Inua Ellams, Catherine Johnson, Patrice Lawrence, Ayisha Malik, Irfan Master, Musa Okwonga and Nikesh Shukla.

Plus introducing four fresh new voices in YA fiction: Mary Bello, Aisha Bushby, Yasmin Rahman and Phoebe Roy.

wonder woman warbringerWONDER WOMAN: WARBRINGER BY LEIGH BARDUGO

August 31st 2017

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository


She will become a legend but first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning . . .

Diana is desperate to prove herself to her warrior sisters. But when the opportunity comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law to save a mere mortal, Alia Keralis. With this single heroic act, Diana may have just doomed the world.

Alia is a Warbringer – a descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery. Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies, mortal and divine, determined to destroy or possess the Warbringer.

To save the world, they must stand side by side against the tide of war.

 

4 thoughts on “JULY WRAP-UP AND AUGUST ANTICIPATED READS

  1. Congrats on completing Camp Nanowrimo and everything else! Sounds like a very productive month, shame your reading wasn’t quite so happy, it’s always disappointing when books don’t live up to the hype!

    I am so excited to read Wonder Woman as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

