MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG

I saw this tag floating around the blogosphere last month and immediately knew I was going to do it regardless of the fact that we’re now past the mid-year mark and I wasn’t tagged by anyone in the first place.

1. BEST BOOK(S) YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017

thugaqkot

I have been reading a lot of contemporary this year and, undoubtedly, two of my favourites are The Hate U Give and A Quiet Kind Of Thunder. They’re both very different but also similar in the sense that they stress the importance of using your voice.

2. BEST SEQUEL OF 2017 SO FAR

acol

The only sequels I’ve read are A Gathering Of Shadows (which was quite disappointing) and A Conjuring Of Light (which was everything.) I was slightly worried about reading ACOL because it’s the last in a series but it honestly did not disappoint.

3. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT WANT TO

caravalunfilteredflame in the mist

One of my reading goals for this year was to read more recent releases and I’ve done pretty well meeting it so far, but there are still so many anticipated reads I haven’t yet got to. I’m hoping to read Flame In The Mist next. I’m not sure about the others.

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE IN THE SECOND HALF OF 2017

wonder womanthe language of thornscity of brass

the girl with the red balloonstarfishforest of a thousand lanterns

As if I’m only choosing one. I’ll pretty much read anything and everything Leigh Bardugo writes, and especially if it’s set in the Grishaverse. The City Of Brass is probably my most anticipated out of these but I’m seriously looking forward to all of them.

5. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

we can be mended

Do novellas count? Because We Can Be Mended was literally awful, which is exactly what I suspected it would be. But still, I was really holding out hope that she had a good reason for writing another epilogue when the original one was just fine.

6. BIGGEST SURPRISE

upside

I literally only read this because of the hype and it was so worth it. I know she wrote Simon vs. so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that her second book is also amazing but I haven’t read her debut and the synopsis for Upside didn’t really appeal to me so I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

7. FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR

I love discovering new favourite authors, especially when your old favourites let you down. The ones I only discovered this year but wish I’d done sooner are V. E. Schwab, Laini Taylor and Becky Albertalli. In terms of debut authors, Angie Thomas! I’m so excited for the THUG companion.

8. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

I only really crush on characters from fantasy novels because there’s usually more than one book so you get to know them much longer. I haven’t read much fantasy this year but Kell and Lila and Rhy and Alucard and Holland.

9. NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER

Kell and Lila and Rhy and Alucard and Holland? Apart from the fantastic five, I want to be friends with everyone in The Hate U Give and I actually really like Minya from Strange The Dreamer.

10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

Books don’t make me cry so I’ll interpret this as a book that made me cry with laughter. Obviously, The Hate U Give. It’s honestly so funny despite how serious the topic is.

11. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

A Quiet Kind Of Thunder. I’m literally just talking about the same books over and over again, but this one made me smile with its cuteness the whole time I was reading it.

12. FAVORITE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR

big little lies

I think Big Little Lies is the only (television) adaptation I’ve seen so far this year so there wasn’t really much to choose from, but I would have chosen it regardless. I read the book at the end of 2015 after Shailene Woodley was cast as Jane Chapman and have been anticipating it ever since. Loved the book, the cast and the show!

13. FAVORITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR

I only started writing reviews this year, but my favourite reviews correspond with my favourite books. Any guesses what I’m going to say? The Hate U Give because I got to mention a song I really love, and A Quiet Kind Of Thunder which I wrote from an #ownvoices perspective!

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT OR RECEIVED THIS YEAR

strange-the-dreamer

This digital cover doesn’t even do justice to how beautiful the UK edition of Strange The Dreamer is. It has sprayed blue edges as well as moth illustrations and the author’s signature inside. Mine is now signed twice since I met her while she was on tour. I never buy hardbacks but I honestly couldn’t resist. If judging a book by its cover was a crime, I’d be found guilty because of this one. Luckily, it’s just as beautiful inside!

15. BOOKS YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR

exit westsaints and misfitsthe gauntlet

Aside from those aforementioned, I added a lot books to my TBR because of #RamadanReadathon so I’d like to continue reading books written by Muslim authors. I also want to read Alice Oseman’s Radio Silence, Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen and anything written by Adam Silvera.

That’s my mid-year book freak out! Have you done this tag? What are the best books you’ve read so far this year and what are you most anticipating?

One thought on “MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG

Leave a Reply

