MARCH WRAP-UP AND APRIL ANTICIPATED READS

March was a stressful month, to say the least. I didn’t expect anything less knowing I had important deadlines to meet and I think I coped pretty well but I’m just so glad it’s finally over. Despite not getting around to reading everything I wanted to, I still managed to read six books in total (if we’re including my current read which is Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone, and no I haven’t read it before.)

Surprisingly, I also managed to write twelve blog posts (thirteen including this one), posting almost every other day. But I don’t think I can keep this up on a monthly basis. I’m still trying to find a schedule that works for me. Firstly, Diversity Spotlight Thursday will now become a fortnightly thing. Secondly, since I’m doing CampNaNoWriMo next month, I’ll be posting non-book related stuff because I never wanted this blog to be solely book based. Thirdly, I’m deadline free until May so I might be changing up a few things. All in all, April is looking to be an exciting month!

I’m only hyping about two books for April because I’m seriously behind on the other months and the less I anticipate the smaller my TBR = my logic. The first one has been a #1 NYT bestseller for weeks (!!!) and it’s finally out on this little island that’s no longer part of Europe (the continent) apparently. The second I’ve already read and loved and praised, and I’m currently planning to throw it a huge book birthday party, complete with mini eggs, because that’s what it deserves.

thugTHE HATE U GIVE BY ANGIE THOMAS

April 6th 2017

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository


Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

upsideTHE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED BY BECKY ALBERTALLI

April 11th 2017

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository


Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love-she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness-except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny, flirtatious, and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

 

2 thoughts on “MARCH WRAP-UP AND APRIL ANTICIPATED READS

  1. 6 books in a month is impressive! I pretty much stick with 3-4 a month. I’m also excited for Strange the Dreamer. I wasn’t that intrigued but my sister had an ARC and said she was enjoying it and the way she talked about it intrigued me. I’ll look forward to your review once you read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

