BOOKISH PET PEEVES

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while now but I kept having to postpone it due to deadlines. The idea has been in my head for so long that I can’t even remember what initially sparked it, but I remember looking it up afterwards to see if it had been done before and I believe it was a topic for Top Ten Tuesday, back in 2011, which is why I decided to limit my list to ten. They aren’t ranked in any specific order, and I probably have way more than ten, but I really enjoyed compiling this list.

1. READING MORE THAN ONE BOOK AT A TIME

I know this is such a normal thing to do, and so many people do it, but I just can’t simultaneously read two (or more) stories at the same time. If I somehow end up starting two books, I have to prioritise one book and finish it before picking up the other one again.

2. TAKING A BREAK MID-CHAPTER

I hate getting interrupted when I’m reading, especially when it’s something urgent and I have to leave my book without reaching the chapter break. How am I supposed to remember which paragraph I was on, or which line? This is why short chapters are the best.

3. DOG EARED PAGES

I think this is universal. There’s a reason bookmarks exist, and you can literally use anything as a bookmark. There’s no need to fold the corner of the page over, although I actually do this with textbooks that aren’t mine when I need to mark all the pages with useful information (Does that make me hypocritical?)

4. DNF-ING A BOOK

Again, this is such a normal thing to do, especially when you find yourself reading something awful. But I hate knowing that there’s an unfinished book sitting on my shelf. I have to force myself to finish it. Luckily, I very rarely feel like this and it doesn’t bother me when other people do it. Only if I do it myself!

5. READING THE LAST SENTENCE FIRST

Doesn’t this sort of defeat the purpose of the book? I just don’t get it. How can you possibly even deduce something from the last few lines? You could think a character is dead because they’re not mentioned and therefore decide not to read the book when really they’ve just gone away…

6. WHEN THE PAPERBACK DOESN’T COME OUT UNTIL A YEAR AFTER THE HARDBACK, OR AT ALL

I have nothing against hardbacks, but why do paperbacks take so long to publish? Aren’t they cheaper to produce and hence cheaper to buy and hence more people are likely to buy them? This is why I love UKYA, because the books are almost always released in paperback.

7. BOOKS IN A SERIES NOT MATCHING IN HEIGHT OR COVER OR FORMAT

I will always buy a series with matching covers, and since I almost always buy paperbacks too the format remains the same. But the height one really bothers me because it sticks out when it’s on your shelf. When I bought The Mortal Instruments, the last book had only just been released and it’s HUGE and doesn’t line up with the rest of the series.

8. REAL PEOPLE ON COVERS (EXCEPTION: MOVIE TIE-INS)

I just don’t like models on book covers. If it’s half a face or a silhouette it’s somewhat bearable, but I prefer simplistic covers without any people on them at all. Because what if there’s a model who doesn’t fit my perception of the character? I can make exceptions with movie tie-ins, and I know other people don’t like these but at least you have the option to buy the normal edition. I only own one movie tie-in edition, Room, since I read the book after seeing the movie which I loved so much that I needed Brie and Jacob on the cover.

9. UNREMOVABLE STICKERS

It’s pretty normal to hate stickers and I do hate those, but at least you can remove them right? The worst thing ever is when you can’t. Usually, it says something like ‘NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE’ or ‘WINNER OF THIS AWARD.’ Publishers seem to think they’ll sway people towards buying a book if they boast about its award-winning-movie-making potential, when really all they’re doing is putting people off with those awful stickers.

10. WRITING ANOTHER BOOK WHEN IT’S NOT NEEDED

I’m all for novellas that explore other parts of the world or story that weren’t explored in the main book(s) but sometimes a full-on sequel just isn’t needed. There are a few books I’ve read where I was really confused because “It has a sequel?” and there’s also the case of writing another epilogue when the original one was just fine and beautiful and left the story open for interpretation. (I’m looking at you, Veronica Roth.)

So, there you have it. My top ten bookish pet peeves. Do you relate to any of these? Do you have any which I haven’t mentioned? Or are you just side-eyeing me real hard right now because WHY WOULD THAT ANNOY YOU?

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH PET PEEVES

  1. I definitely agree with nos. 3,4 and 7. Tho I’m guilty with no. 5! 🙈😂 I sometimes to that when I love the book and can’t fight the temptation of it. That’s what I did when I was reading ACOTAR. And I haven’t DNF-ed a book yet because I don’t like the idea of it. If I’m not liking the books, I will pause. It may be for a month or who-know-when but I promise I will still finish those and post my thoughts about why I hate it. And no. 8 is just okay with me especially if it’s representing the characters accurately.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly how I feel about DNF-ing a book! Lately, I’m actually really into people on the covers, especially when it’s POC. I still wouldn’t buy them myself but I do appreciate them from afar!

      Like

  2. 6, 8 and 9 are so true, especially 6!! Although I prefer hardbacks to paperbacks, most of the time I don’t want to spend the money on a hardback when I can get a cheaper paperback. It drives me insane waiting forever for a very anticipated book to come out in paperback!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! For some reason I was under the impression Flame In The Mist would be released in paperback and I just realised it’s only available in hardback for now, and it’s one of my most anticipated releases 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with so many of these! I really struggle to read numerous books at once, I just find it really stressful 😛 and I have so many issues with books/book covers not matching, movie tie ins, etc. It drives me mad when a series doesn’t match on my shelf! I buy mostly ebooks now though and it doesn’t seem to bother me as much in ebook form. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I didn’t even think about e-books when writing this. But now that you’ve mentioned it, the matching covers thing doesn’t bother me so much either? I don’t even look at the cover if I’m reading it in that format so that’s probably why.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

