RAPID FIRE BOOK TAG

Thank you to Naima from violettebooks for tagging me! I’ve never actually done one of these before so this should be pretty fun, and I realise I haven’t yet shared much about myself here so I guess this is also an attempt at the ‘get to know me’ thing.

1. E-BOOK OR PHYSICAL BOOK?

Physical books. I do read e-books occasionally and they’re perfect for reading in the dark, but I love the feel of a paperback in my hands, the sound of the turning pages and the comfort of knowing when I’m getting to the end.

2. PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?

I am 100% a paperback girl. I love the flexibility and weight of paperbacks as opposed to hardbacks, and I would much rather accidentally drop a paperback on my face whilst reading. They’re also a lot cheaper.

3. ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

I only recently started buying books online but I definitely love bookstores more. The atmosphere is so inviting. I always have to go in and browse the shelves even if I don’t plan on buying anything.

4. TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

Trilogies. I also quite like duologies, but more than four books is often too much. I’ve never read anything where I thought the story actually needed that many instalments.

5. HEROES OR VILLAINS?

Villains. It sort of depends on the story, but I often like the villainous characters and especially when there’s redemption involved.

6. A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ?

Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Because Kaz and Inej, and Nina and Matthias, and Jesper and Wylan. And because the Grishaverse is one of the best fantasy worlds I’ve ever visited. And because Leigh’s writing is magical. And because there’s also a sequel.

7. RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly. It’s a murder mystery set in the Victorian era with incredible characters and an intense plot. It’s both creepy and cute, hilarious and heart-breaking, and it got me out of a month long reading slump. It has an average Goodreads rating of just below four stars and I’m like WHY.

8. THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?

The State Of Grace by Rachael Lucas. It hasn’t yet been published but it’s an #ownvoices novel narrated by a sixteen year old girl with Asperger’s.

9. THE LAST BOOK YOU BOUGHT?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber and A Conjuring Of Light by V. E. Schwab.

10. WEIRDEST THING YOU’VE USED AS A BOOKMARK?

I tend to use bookmarks as bookmarks, but I do have a perfume sampler in my bookmark jar. The perfume sort of infuses into the pages when you use it (until the scent on the sampler fades.) Considering people tend to like the smell of book pages, I guess that’s a little weird.

11. USED BOOKS: YES OR NO?

Yes, I love bookstores that sell used books more than Waterstones. They’re so loved and yet unloved at the same time.

12. TOP THREE FAVOURITE GENRES

Fantasy, contemporary realism and mystery.

13. BORROW OR BUY?

Buy. I’m usually the one being borrowed from!

14. CHARACTERS OR PLOT?

Characters! I’m likely to read the other books in a series when I love the characters, even if the plot doesn’t interest me (i.e. The Raven Cycle)

15. LONG OR SHORT BOOKS?

It depends on the genre. I’d prefer not to read anything above 5oo pages for fantasy, but I suspect a lot of my favourite authors are secretly competing on who can write the longest book so I can’t really complain. I actually feel quite intimidated by the size sometimes.

16. LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS?

Short, because in the case of an emergency I can easily reach the end of the chapter and then worry about the house burning down or whatever.

17. NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU CAN THINK OF

Divergent, The Fault In Our Stars and Harry Potter.

18. BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

Laugh. I’ve never actually cried over a book before, but I love books that make me laugh out loud.

19. OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?

Fictional worlds, obviously.

20. AUDIOBOOKS: YES OR NO?

No. I’ve never listened to one, but based on the fact that I’m not an audio learner I suspect I won’t enjoy it as much. I could probably be swayed if the narrator is someone I like.

21. DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Yesallthetimewhodoesnt. It sort of irks me when an amazing book has a hideous cover or a terrible book has a beautiful one.

22. BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATIONS OR BOOK-TO-TV ADAPTATIONS?

Movie adaptations. I haven’t watched many TV adaptations of books I’ve read but I prefer to see how they condense entire novels into two hour movies. I want a book to be well adapted to the big screen, but not completely faithful that there are no surprises.

23. A MOVIE OR TV SHOW YOU PREFERRED TO ITS BOOK?

Room, based on Emma Donoghue’s novel. I read the book after the movie for once but I definitely preferred the movie. The cinematography and soundtrack and acting were phenomenal. I don’t think I enjoyed the book so much because of the narrative voice.

24. SERIES OR STANDALONES?

Series. Most of my favourite books are part of a series. I guess I like finishing a book and knowing there’s more to come.

I’m not going to tag anyone specifically because this is quite a popular tag and I don’t know who has done it already, but feel free to let me know your own answers to any of the questions in the comments!

Leave a Reply

